Fitness, Products I love

My 12-week experience using Progress Pure’s Curve Guide

April 5, 2016

If you follow along on my Instagram (click here to check it out), you will know that for the past 12 weeks, I have been following a new workout guide; the Progress Pure Curve Guide by Molly (aka @progresspure). I’ve lost over 6% bodyfat and I’ve gained lean muscle and toned up. Without futher ado, here is my Progress Pure Curve Guide Review – read on to see my transformation photo and get my thoughts on the whole experience.

What is The Progress Pure Curve Guide?

progress pure curve guide review

The Progress Pure Curve Guide is a 12-week weightlifting guide from Molly Teshuva that is designed to give you a firm yet feminine figure. Please do not be scared by the word ‘weightlifting’ because ladies, let me reiterate again that you WON’T get bulky! This guide is designed for women who want to get lean and build curves in all the right places – think a lean waist and lean legs. The guide is split into three phases, which are split into a warmup, strength portion and cardio section. Each phase lasts for four weeks and the workouts take anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour and a half depending on how long you rest for and what phase you are on. You will need gym access to use equipment such as barbells, heavy dumbbells, a lat pull machine and etcetera.

Molly also has a nutrition guide out, but I did not buy it. Nonetheless, nutrition during this period is extremely important and I did get my macros calculated by a nutritionist.

Phase 1

Phase 1 was personally my favorite portion of the guide. This phase is designed to build your strength and consists of low reps and high weights. You are encouraged to use the heaviest weight that you can safely use. There are 5 strength exercises in total. The cardio section consists of intervals, where you switch between fast walking and jogging, to build up your endurance. I saw a lot of progress quite quickly and noticed that my back became much stronger which in turn helped to make my waist look more narrow.

For those completely new to weightlifting, I would recommend you take two weeks or so to get used to weightlifting moves. By this, I mean take a look at all the exercises in the Curve Guide and practice them. You want to make sure your form is correct and that your body becomes familiar with the moves. This guide is not for beginners and you should have some history of working out and lifting.

Phase 2

Phase 2 really cranks up the heat – two more exercises are added (so you are doing seven strength exercises in total), and you have to do more reps during each set. This phase really challenged me and I saw real strength gains for both my upper body and my lower body. During this phase, I saw my legs starting to lean out! 

The cardio portion of the guide now requires you to sprint, which was really challenging for me. Not only did I have to do sprints first thing in the morning, which is when I workout, but I had to … sprint! Cardio is not my strong point haha.

Phase 3

Phase 3 was such a love/hate relationship! This phase is designed to burn as much fat as possible to reveal your toned and lean body. I really enjoyed the new mix of exercises but I was not a big fan of the ab exercises – mostly just because they were so much harder. I found it harder to fit in all of the exercises, and ended up skimping a little on the ab exercises in order to do the cardio portion and get home in time to get ready for work.

The cardio section for phase 3 is SO hard. You have to do all out sprints during this phase and I was actually impressed at how fast I became. I could tell that my endurance was improving because my heart rate did not spike as much during week 4 compared to week 1 of phase 1. 

Overall Thoughts and My Transformation Photo

Alright guys, click here for my final transformation photo on Instagram πŸ™‚

So, my overall thoughts? I absolutely loved the program! I really liked how the guide was structured and the mix of exercises in it. I loved the emphasis on building your upper body and back for the first and second phase, and how there was a bigger focus on the legs in the third phase. Molly actually has a Youtube channel so you can head over there to see what the curve guide is like. 

The only downside was that the workouts take a while to do. Workouts during phase 1 took me about 45-50 minutes and workouts during phase 2 and 3 took me anywhere from an hour to an hour and 20. I woke up extra early during the week to fit in my workouts which was a little rough at first but, you gotta do what you gotta do! I would definitely recommend this guide for anyone looking to lose fat and build lean muscle to achieve a toned look. I still have a ways to go but I am SO much happier with how I look.

If you want to give the guide a go, you can buy the guide by clicking here (and let me know if you do so I can follow your journey!!!). I really recommend starting an Instagram account, or using yours if you already have one, to document your journey and to keep motivated by finding other women doing the guide by searching the hashtag #PPCG.

Let me know if you have any questions – honestly yours,
Alice

Thank you for all of your support! For more Honestly Fitness, check out my InstagramFacebookTwitter & Pinterest and don’t forget to subscribe!

You Might Also Like

  • Cassie April 11, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    The message of this Pure Curve Guide is absolutely wonderful: women can look strong and still retain their femininity! It’s not even about looks–it’s about how strong, confident and how hardworking you are in your personality to get to where you want to go! Amazing review πŸ™‚

  • bade April 22, 2016 at 11:04 am

    Your transformation is incredible – I saw your pics on IG. And I’m so glad you posted transform pics of the back – you look great, girl! Can you give any recommendations for the nutritionist who calculated your macros? I’m interested in getting mine recalculated. Thanks!

    • Honestly Fitness April 22, 2016 at 11:58 am

      Hi bade,
      Thank you sooo much!! I’m so flattered that you think so πŸ™‚
      And yeah, absolutely. I work with Ashton, over at Enhance Nutrition LDN. I believe that you get a free consultation call so I would definitely take advantage of that. They’re a little pricey, but really worth it. He is very responsive (which is perfect for me because I get antsy and need replies quickly haha) and really listens to what you want, goals for the future and etc.
      Let me know how it goes when you (potentially) get your macros recalculated!!
      Thanks again for your lovely comment and for visiting the blog πŸ™‚ xx

  • kat April 27, 2016 at 7:56 am

    hi just wondering about the structure of the curve guide- does she have a workout schedule for every day of the week? what does an average week look like? thanks!

    • Honestly Fitness April 27, 2016 at 1:54 pm

      Hello Kat! You do four workouts a week and you choose when to do them. They are all full body workouts with one leg exercise, two upper body exercises and 2 core/lower back exercises plus cardio.
      Does that help?
      Thanks for leaving your comment and visiting the blog πŸ™‚ xx

  • Megan April 28, 2016 at 7:08 am

    Hi! I currently am using BBG and I’m considering trying ProgressPure instead. I have a couple questions since you’ve done both! Do you recommend one over the other? And, for ProgressPure, do you repeat the same exercises for four weeks in each phase? That was the only part that confused me!

  • Sam April 29, 2016 at 10:59 am

    I was wondering how long we have to do the cardio? For example, in phase one, day one, it is written walk 1 minute, jog 1 minute. But at what pace and during how many minutes? Thank you!!!

    • Sam April 29, 2016 at 11:00 am

      It is for the ppcg

    • Honestly Fitness April 29, 2016 at 11:16 am

      Hey Sam, so you see the little picture of the clock next to the cardio bit? It shows you there – 20 minutes total πŸ™‚
      Hope that helps! xx

    • Honestly Fitness April 29, 2016 at 11:17 am

      Oh and pace is whatever is best for you. Some people think a jog is 5mph, some can do 7mph. I personally like to jog at 6mph and walk at 3.6mph πŸ™‚

  • Patience May 6, 2016 at 9:25 am

    I love this! Thank you so much for documenting. I’ve been looking into this guide, the “Ready to Lift” guide and the ZBody Fitness Guides! I’m still trying to figure out which would be the best for me. I also work out in the mornings and I’m not sure that I have 1.5 hours to spare! Your progress is amazing though! Thank you once again πŸ™‚

    • Honestly Fitness May 8, 2016 at 5:40 pm

      Hi Patience!
      So glad this proved useful for you πŸ™‚ I am actually doing the ‘Ready to Lift’ guide now too, in conjunction with workouts from PPCG.
      I have not heard about the ZBody Fitness Guides, but the RTL guides are great! However, they are only focused on the lower body so you’ll have to make your own upper body workouts for other days. I really recommend PPCG when you know you have 3 months to dedicate the time to it. I had to wake up really early to make it fit haha, but it was so worth it.
      Thanks again for your kind words and good luck with whatever guide you choose to go with πŸ™‚ xx

  • What No One Tells You About What Happens After You Lose Weight - Honestly FitnessHonestly Fitness May 16, 2016 at 7:02 pm

    […] will know that I have been following Progress Pure’s (Molly aka @progresspure) Curve Guide. Remember my review? I have lost about 6% bodyfat as well as gained muscle and definition. I am now doing a mix of the […]

  • Lee June 1, 2016 at 4:19 pm

    Thanks for your inspiring review! I decided to buy the guide, but I’m abit unsure how to use it properly! You know for phase 1, day 1. Do you just do the strength training once or do you repeat it like in Kaylas guides? (New to all this lifting πŸ™ˆ)
    TIA,
    Lee

    • Honestly Fitness June 4, 2016 at 9:05 pm

      Hey Lee! So glad you liked the review and I am excited for you to use PPCG πŸ™‚
      So, Molly actually has a Youtube channel and she posted a video about how to use the guide. Try looking at this video. You know how some exercises are paired together (such as bench press and bent over row on phase 1, day 1)? You need to do those exercises one after the other. You do the recommended number of reps, rest for 1-2 minutes, and then you repeat the exercises until you have completed the amount of sets. So for example, if it says ‘5 sets x 5 reps’, you do 5 reps, and repeat it 5 times (sets). Remember to do the heaviest possible weight you can–you should be barely able to do the last rep.
      I would really recommend taking a few weeks to familiarize yourself with the exercises, get your form correct and build a bit of strength first. It’s so, so important you do the exercises correctly or you could hurt yourself.
      I hope that helps, Lee!!! Please let me know if you have any more questions.
      Alice xx

  • Robin June 8, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    Hi Alice
    I am seriously considering to buy this guide but not 100% convinced 😁.
    Is it possible to reuse the guide but with heavier weights?
    And as everyday is a Total body Workout , how do muscle groups get targeted? I don’t get it πŸ™ˆ
    Please help me, I hope this guide is the one I am looking for ✌🏼️.
    Good luck with what you are doing now! πŸ’ͺ🏼
    -xoxo-
    Robin

    • Honestly Fitness July 29, 2016 at 8:02 am

      Hi Robin!
      You are supposed to use the heaviest weights you can with this guide. The last rep should be a struggle. A total body workout just means that there are both upper and lower body exercises in the guide. Does that make sense?
      Thanks for your nice comment πŸ™‚
      Alice xx

  • Catherine July 5, 2016 at 1:42 am

    Hey girly! This guide sounds really promising, just curious on how it compares to BBG? I am currently redoing BBg but I am not finding myself enjoying the exercises at all. Any thoughts?

    • Honestly Fitness July 29, 2016 at 8:00 am

      Hey Catherine,
      It’s very different to BBG! BBG is a cardio and plyo based workout whereas PPCG is a heavy weights and HIIT guide. You have to push yourself to lift heavy to see maximum results whereas in the BBG you use really light weights.
      Hope that helps!

  • Fit Body Guides Review: The First 4 Weeks [FBG] - Honestly Fitness November 7, 2016 at 8:25 pm

    […] was giving women amazing results. At the time, I was doing the Progress Pure Curve Guide (you can read my review here) and kind of forgot about the FBG, shelving it away in the back of my head. A couple months ago, a […]

  • Lalia November 17, 2016 at 10:13 am

    Hi !
    I really think to start this guide. But I don’t know how it’s inside. Is it clear how to do the exercises and the repetitions? I’m not used to lift weights and I don’t know if could understand the guide or not.

    • Honestly Fitness November 17, 2016 at 10:46 am

      Hi Laila! Yes, it’s clear but please feel free to ask me any questions if you are confused. The beginning of the guide offers an explanation!