Fitness

Kayla Itsines Sweat with Kayla App Review

December 27, 2015

It’s been about 2 months since I have downloaded Kayla Itsines ‘Sweat with Kayla’ app, so I feel as if I have a pretty good grasp of it’s capabilities in order to write a proper Sweat with Kayla app review. In case you aren’t sure who Kayla Itsines is and why she came out with an app, I suggest reading the interview I did with her here and reading the review I did of her bikini body guides here, which helped drive her success.

Now that those who did not know anything about Kayla Itsines are caught up, let me dive into my Sweat with Kayla app review. I’ll try and be as comprehensive as possible (it’s pretty long) as well as honest as possible. In full disclosure, I am an affiliate.

What is ‘Sweat with Kayla’?

sweat-with-kayla-app-review

Sweat with Kayla is a new interactive portable coaching app which houses the BBG (bikini body guide) workouts and HELP guide, allowing women to stick to their health and fitness goals. The app allows you to sign up for an account and choose which week you wish to start on – if you are completely new to BBG, you will of course start on week 1, whereas an advanced user may wish to start on a different week.

The app is not free; it is $19.99 a month and is a subscription service, which means that $19.99 will be debited from your bank account every month until you cancel it. And there is a minimum subscription of 12 weeks. In theory, you can sign up for a 7 day free trial but 3 months worth of money ($59.97) will be debited from your account, although it will be returned if you cancel the account after your free trial. Just be aware of that if you are low on funds. 

An exciting selling point of the app is that it now houses BBG 3.0, whereas previously you could only buy PDF versions of BBG 1.0 and 2.0. In a nutshell, BBG 3.0 didn’t exist until now. I was excited to see what BBG 3.0 looked like, which I recap towards the end of this review. 

Features of Sweat With Kayla

Sweat with Kayla app features

The Sweat with Kayla app is made up several features which change slightly depending on what week you are on. These features are resistance workouts (legs, arms, abs or full body depending on what week you are on), LISS workouts, HIIT workouts, rehabilitation (where you choose to stretch out your upper body, lower body or full body) and sometimes a bonus challenge.

sweat with kayla app features

The app also features a daily menu, a grocery list as well as the ability to take and store progress photos. The foods featured in the app are the same as the recipes listed in Kayla Itsines HELP guide (read my review on it here).

sweat-with-kayla-app-food-features

The Good

The app is beautifully designed and very user friendly. It’s easy to navigate and I had no trouble at all choosing what workouts to do. For someone who has not bought the guides, this is a more affordable option which lets you experience the guides without having to pay the full cost upfront. Kayla also discussed how she would be adding updates and new workouts to the app. I am unsure as to what the updates entail (although I would hope that includes videos of how to perform the exercises) but as for the workouts, by this she means that you will never run out of workouts to do. There will be a BBG 3.0, 4.0, and etc – you get the idea.

I think my favorite part of the whole app is the rehabilitation section – no kidding! It runs you through the stretches and times them for you as well. It’s just so easy to use and I definitely use this feature the most out of anything in the app.

After some pretty vocal anger in the Instagram-verse about having to pay the full $19.99 a month despite already owing the guides, Kayla sent an email offer to everyone who bought the guides to try out the app for $1 for 12 weeks. I’m glad she listened to the feedback in that case.

The Bad

While the app is beautifully designed, with a user experience expert obviously brought in, I have to wonder what is groundbreaking or novel about the app? While the PDF guides were not at all cheap, I appreciated the fact that I could download them and keep them forever. While using the app for 12 weeks is cheaper than buying one of the guides, if you cancel your subscription, you lose the guides.

For someone who has bought both the BBG and HELP guides, the app offers nothing new for me, except a place to house the BBG and HELP guide. This point in particular has created quite a lot of discussion among the Instagram BBG community, with suggestions that include being able to log into the app with whatever guides you have already purchased. I think this is a great idea but for reasons unknown, Kayla and the team are not responsive to constructive criticism, with many comments being deleted. I understand deleting hate speech, but the majority of the comments given were thoughtful.

While I was excited at the prospect of a BBG 3.0 and more, I was disappointed to see that BBG 3.0 seemed to be recycled exercises from BBG 1.0 and 2.0. With that being said, I look forward to seeing what updates are added to the app, as that could all change in a few months from now. So I cannot really say with any confidence what the app and the new workouts will be like in a year’s time.

In Summary

The bottom line? The app is not for me and I am happy I have a lifelong copy of the guides. I’ve been a long time fan of Kayla’s, I followed her when she had just 10,000 followers, but I feel as if the app demonstrated a lack of market research. The price is not in line with many popular subscription apps or services such as Netflix or Spotify and doesn’t reflect her target demographic, which is primarily women between the ages of 16-25 (obviously not her only demographic, but her largest). I encourage Kayla to really listen to the feedback her followers are giving her, instead of ignoring them and assuming that they will fall in line. 

I’d love to know your thoughts as I can imagine there are opinions that vary from mine! Do you agree with the points I made in my Sweat with Kayla app review? Anything I should have included? Leave your comments below and I will do my best to respond to them. And if you found this review helpful, please share on your social media networks – I would appreciate it so much!

Honestly yours,
Alice

Thank you for all of your support! For more Honestly Fitness, check out my InstagramFacebookTwitter & Pinterest and don’t forget to subscribe!

You Might Also Like

  • Nicola December 27, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    Alice, this is a very thorough and subjective review where you argue both sides of the coin. It’s really great to see you conclude with your personal opinion too. Too many people sit on the fence when writing reviews.

    I agree with everything you say – it’s a great, beautifully designed app and I can see the drive behind the want to have it but it’s hard to fork out twenty quid a month when you need additional equipment too.

    There are also still a few glitches in the app that I hope will soon be ironed out. For example, I can’t access BBG 3 – it only goes to week 25.

    Anyway, great review.

    Thanks,
    Nicola

    • Honestly Fitness December 27, 2015 at 8:48 pm

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me, Nic! I appreciate your thoughtful response and I’m glad you agree with me.
      Thanks for pointing out that the all does suffer glitches – something I forgot to mention but important to bear in mind. I’m hopeful they’ll be ironed out soon too. That’s a shame it won’t let you move on to week 25 :/
      Thanks again Nic and have a great week! xx

    • Jennifer February 15, 2016 at 5:12 pm

      Thank you for your review. I totally agree especially in order to the price and what you that it’s quite expensive if you have already bought the guides like I did. I didn’t know that it was possible to use the app for 1$. I’m in Germany and the German website didn’t mention this offer.
      I’m testing the app at the moment and I what is pretty confusing is that in the guides you have a plan which days you do body-weight-exercises and which days LISS or HIIT. The app is giving you the choice when to do what which leaves me wondering if there is an impact on the results if you don’t make the “right” choice when you do what. To it’s quite logic to have one day with exercises followed by one with LISS or HIIT. Why is it different to the guides?

      Thank you again for the review!

      • Honestly Fitness February 23, 2016 at 7:57 pm

        I’m pleased you liked the review! The $1 thing was a special offer that was sent out to women who had previously bought the PDF versions of the BBG – I received it through email, she never mentioned it on her website (as far as I know).
        There’s really no difference when you do the workouts but I certainly understand why you would question that. I don’t know why it is different to the guide but I can imagine that users wanted more flexibility? I am not sure unfortunately.

        Thank you again for reading the review and voicing your thoughts – I appreciate it!
        Alice xxx

      • Jerushah March 9, 2016 at 6:30 pm

        I have the PDF guide and am only on week 2
        When I decided to get the app I noticed the circuits are different ! Did U notice this ? Now the OCD in me doesn’t know which one to follow. For example tomorrow for me is week 2 full body. The app and PDF guides for that workout are different. What do you think is best to follow? Can I switch back and forth ? That’s odd to me

    • Morgan March 2, 2016 at 5:00 am

      Excellent review!! I agree with all your points and am glad you gave a balanced view as well. I have the same concerns about paying quite a substantial amount, although they are cheaper than the downloaded guides, and you should be able to keep them or have access to them once you’ve paid for the full 12 weeks.

      I agree win everything you said and must compliment you on your thorough description and excellent writing. I enjoyed the read very much and think you raised good points!

      Thank you!

    • Bianca March 15, 2016 at 10:19 pm

      Hey Alice!

      Firstly thanks for this great unbiased review! After reading your Sweat With Kayla app review and another review on this website – http://www.bikinibodyguides.com/sweat-with-kayla-itsines-app-review/ .. I’m convinced that I should stick to my BBG e-books.

      I really hope Kayla will ‘realize’ how BBG veterans like us feel disappointed with her app and the pricing structure! She should do something about it before she lose her supporters! I truly love her and her guides, but from what I’ve read and heard.. Kayla have ‘changed’.

      Can you as her affiliate contact her directly and voice out our opinions please?

      • Honestly Fitness March 25, 2016 at 9:57 pm

        Thank you, Bianca πŸ™‚ I have definitely tried … I don’t really think there’s much I can do. It has to be a collective outcry from her followers – YOU GUYS πŸ™‚

    • Claire October 2, 2016 at 12:47 am

      I purchased the three month experience. I’ve only had it for 3 days, and have changed my mind. If I cancel my account, will I get my money back?

  • Sam December 27, 2015 at 11:01 pm

    hi!!!
    great review Alice, thank you.
    At the beginning, I was so excited for the announcement, but when I found out it was an app, I was a wee bit disappointed. See, for example, I do not have an iphone nor android, I use an old nokia bcs I used to have an iphone, didn’t like it, and switched back to my old granma phone, which has everything I need. It would be frustrating to have to go to check onthe pc all the exercises everytime to write them down, and could not use timers and stuff…plus, I prefer to have pdf versions of the guides, so I can repeat weeks, redoit again without paying again,….I have both guides, so paying for having the third one and have to repay everytime i want to start it again,seems like money thrown away….plus I hear the BBG 3.0 is like a mix of all the exercises already present in the first 2 guides, so…I have to say, I am sure it is a beautiful app, but for me, who work and live with my bf, and have to pay all the bills, car leasing, food,…I prefer to repeat the guides and be able to afford a nice vacay instead of cutting on other stuff, cause it is pretty expensive and in the end…you pay a lot for something-a guide- that is not mine to keep…nonsense!!!:(

  • D December 28, 2015 at 5:40 am

    Hi Alice:)
    thank you so much for the review-it’s really really helpful.
    I hve the first 2 guides in pdf format, and are super handy-I have them on my pc, printed verisons and can use them anytime i want, whichever week I desire…can redo them a thounsand times…When i Found out that the app was the news that Kayla made us wait for… I was disapponited:
    First of all, I have an old granma style nokia which I adore cause I don’t use apps or other fancy stuff (tried once but decided to go back to the roots), so writing it down from the pc everytime would be annoying, and could not even use timers or other services…so, it’ s a first no no for me
    second, I think it is really expensive, As I have bills to pay ( I live alone w/my husband), mortgage rates to cover,…I prefer to go on vacay instead…
    third: I have the first 2 guides, and have redone them again, which is great, …was so waiting for the third one to come out, but when kayla’s team told me that there is not gonna be a pdf version, I def decided not to buy the app-I mean, I pay for the app and own nothing?therefore If I want to redo the 3.0, I have to repay (and is pretty expensive too)?!…I mean…It’s nonsense…
    I prefer to find maybe other programs to download, which I can keep and dispose of as I desire…
    So for me, even though I think that it is a beautiful app, it’s useless and, for now, I’m definitely not buying it….I was so bummed also cause people wrote that 3.0 is just a mix of previous exercises from the first 2 guides…I was hoping for some more effort put in the guides instead of in the app…but it’s just my humble opinion-counts nothing cause it’s one person’s only, but still….thank you for letting us share our taughts too, Alice-keep on doing a great job!!!!

  • Sam December 28, 2015 at 5:57 am

    SOrry, my first post and the second one-it’s still me, have no idea why it registered D instead of Sam,…the first time it didn’t show the post, so I rewrote it in a longer version:)
    sorry again Alice:)

    • Honestly Fitness December 28, 2015 at 7:02 pm

      Sam, no worries, I was wondering if you accidentally posted twice!! Thanks so much for leaving your thoughts here. I’m so grateful you took the time to read my review πŸ™‚ x

  • Chelsey December 28, 2015 at 8:46 am

    Great review Alice! I’m sad that the app does not have short videos of how to do the exercises. I know quite a few people who have gotten injuries after doing the guides for months at a time and I feel like a little 5 – 10 second clip of proper form would help a ton!!! I feel the same as you, I’m not going to spend additional money for BBG 3.0 when I have been taking exercises from the guides and my own favourite moves from other workouts and have been making up my own circuits.

    • Honestly Fitness December 28, 2015 at 7:03 pm

      Thank you so much, Chelsey! Short videos would be extremely beneficial for everyone wouldn’t they? Even advanced users could use a refresh once in a while.
      That’s smart of you to make your own circuits. I do that sometimes too! x

  • Sunny_m December 28, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    Thanks for you review, it’s very much in line with my thoughts. I’m enjoying the 12 weeks for 1$ and I will cancel after. I have noted you can’t pause the weeks if you go on holidays or take a sickness break. You can’t go back to a previous week. I’m not yet on week 25, and the app rolls in weeks to weeks but I have been taking screenshots of the circuits and made pic collages. One circuit doesn’t fit in one screenshot. I intend to print them for the new year BBG and have my forever BBG 3.0. Good continuity in your fitness progress.
    @bbg_sunny_m

    • Honestly Fitness December 28, 2015 at 7:04 pm

      Thanks for reading the review, Sunny! That’s a really good point and I think being able to pause weeks would be a useful improvement to the app.
      All the best in your fitness journey x

  • Cristal Porter December 31, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    Loved your review. I too appreciate that you did not bash her but you simply stated your perspective on the positive and negative features of the app. I agree. I’m a little more bothered than you because I received an email on December 5th to only pay $30 for life time access and received an email saying it would be set up in 2 to 4 business days. It is now December 31st and I have not received a response. Other girls on her Instagram account have posted something similar with no response. Any idea on this? This alone has made me frustrated because of how unprofessional it has been. She can totally afford to have a help team and it all seems SO sloppy. Anyway, all this to say, you were a lot more gracious with your issues and I am grateful for that example.

    Lets be real though, I love BBG 1.0 and 2.0 and plan to restart in January. Any idea on how to get plugged in with the movement in January if you can’t get access to the app? I the app necessary?

    Thank you for reading!

    • Honestly Fitness December 31, 2015 at 7:39 pm

      Hey Cristal! Glad you liked the article and I appreciate that you noticed that I was trying my best to be neutral and simply state my thoughts and the facts.
      Hmm, I haven’t gotten that email so I’m surprised to hear that and I’m so sorry you still haven’t received a response! I would try commenting on her social media too, not IG but Twitter and Facebook because for some reason, her team are more responsive on that platform. I emailed her help team about an issue im having with the app (I’m unable to log back in and I need to cancel it), but haven’t heard anything yet.
      Haha and yes!! BBG 1 + 2 are great and that’s exciting you’re staring again! I doubt access to the app is necessary. I mean it’s all the same as what you have on the PDFs anyway. So don’t let that deter you.
      Happy New Years ever and thanks again for reading!! xxx

  • Kendel January 1, 2016 at 7:13 am

    Your review is very in line with what I have been thinking! I’m probably going to write a review of it myself. I just downloaded the app (free trial for a week) because I was too slow to get the $1 deal that other BBG girls have. It isn’t a long time with the app, but I have spent a fair while poking around and trying to work out what it can (and can’t) do in a short amount of time.

    I have both the BBG and HELP guides, so I struggled to see what the app actually had to offer. I love, love, love the fact that it is in my pocket and I can track my water intake, and workouts with the built-in timer. I also love the ‘education’ section of the app. I think it’s pretty pricey for someone who has already purchased her guides ($1 subscription offer regardless) and the fact that it disappears if you cancel the subscription (whilst obvious) is annoying. I guess part of me was also expecting a bit more of a ‘community’ aspect? You’re able to add comments about when you finish a workout, but I haven’t been able to find comments from other girls? Am I just missing a tab or is that part non-existent?

    I love Kayla. I have followed her on various platforms for a while and I love her workouts. I just happen to believe that her app isn’t for someone who already has the guides. It is good for someone who is trying to get back into fitness after a break or a newbie, but not for people who have no issue with the PDF/printable guides. It is a pretty solid crack at an app though. Nothing will ever be perfect the first (second or even third) time ’round. Hopefully the team listens to what everyone says and develops it from there πŸ™‚

  • Allison January 4, 2016 at 1:55 am

    Excellent article. You put into words what I had been feeling. I am not in her target market as I am slightly older and more settled financially and I feel a $20/m fee is insanely high. That is my entire reservation to the app. I like the idea of it being interactive and motivating, as I love anything that will encourage exercise. But I just don’t see the value when there are several large drawbacks. Thanks for the examination and opinion. Two thumbs up!

    • Honestly Fitness January 4, 2016 at 9:04 pm

      Thank you, Allison! It’s so nice to hear that you liked the article and interesting to hear the thoughts of someone who is not in her target market. I’ve been wondering what more financially settled individuals feel about the app. Thanks again for your comment and for reading!
      Alice x

  • Alena January 5, 2016 at 11:48 pm

    Great review Alice! Really liked reading both sides to what you think of it.. It all pretty much goes along with my thoughts as well. The app in itself is well designed, and could be great for those just starting out, but for those who already have the PDF versions and have been following the guides for quite some time it doesn’t offer enough for the price. And as you mentioned the 3.0 has so far been a bit disappointing .. I guess I was expecting a bigger variety of new exercises. So after my 12 week trial period is done, I also will not be continuing on with the app.. I can imagine it takes a lot of work to build an app, but as you said, it would be beneficial for Kayla and her team to really listen to her target market, their feedback (good and bad) and try and work with them a bit more.
    Love your articles Alice!
    XX Alena

    • Honestly Fitness January 7, 2016 at 8:06 am

      Thanks for reading this Alena, and I’m pleased you liked this! I’m with you on expecting much more from BBG 3.0 – and I don’t think it was too much to ask for to be honest. We expect a lot from Kayla and so it was unfortunate to just see the same style of exercises.
      Thanks again for leaving your feedback. I agree with all of it and appreciate your input πŸ™‚ Excited for you to release your workout guides soon!!
      Alice xx

  • Sue Claries January 10, 2016 at 4:09 am

    I’m sorry to ask this but, I’m on my last day of trial using Kayla’s Sweat, am I still be able to use the app even when my trial ends? Or it’ll automatically cancel my account? ? I love her apps so much, it keeps me motivated but I couldn’t afford the price.

    • Honestly Fitness January 10, 2016 at 8:32 am

      Don’t be sorry to ask questions, Sue! I believe it will continue unless you cancel it yourself – it will just take the cost of the app out of your account/credit/debit card.
      Hope that helps x

  • Kristin January 10, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    So I haven’t scrolled through all the comments to see if you’ve already answered this, but I just downloaded the free trial of a Kayla’s app and was really looking forward to staring BBG 3.0. Do you know where I can find it? It’s only letting me go to week 24. Thanks for your help πŸ™‚

    • Honestly Fitness January 10, 2016 at 5:27 pm

      Hi! That’s what happened to me too for some reason – I just started at week 24 and it rolled over to week 25. I couldn’t find another way to start BBG 3.0 unfortunately.
      Sorry I couldn’t help more xxx

  • Kristin January 10, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    Strange- was my question deleted? I stumbled upon your site as I was searching for questions I had about Kayla’s new app. Do you know how to access BBG 3.0? I can only seem to access up to 24 weeks.

    Thanks!

    • Honestly Fitness January 10, 2016 at 5:51 pm

      Nope, I got your question and responded! Did you not get it? x

  • The Kayla Movement - Honestly FitnessHonestly Fitness January 10, 2016 at 6:09 pm

    […] […]

  • Julie January 11, 2016 at 10:10 am

    Hi Alice πŸ™‚
    I really wanna try out this BBG πŸ™‚ But there are so many options! I am 16 years old girl from Norway and i’m a member of a training center. My motivation is on level 1 haha, maybe because of school. I dont have much money, and I dont think my parents are willing to buy it for me. So, I’m hoping maybe you could answer some of my questions, to maybe make it easier for me πŸ™‚ I found the BBG-calendar on the internet, for 12 weeks and for free! Can I use this, or should i buy the whole package? And then I wonder, they say its 3 training each week. But at the picture “Features of Sweat With Kayla”, it says 3 training left, on 4 subjects. If I bought the app, can i mix and tricks with for example HIIT and LIIS, or is there a program that Im following? Im sorry for my grammar, and i really hope you could tell me, ’cause I’m really confused haha. And maybe if u got time, tell me the difference between the app and the guides?
    (Wow I wrote a whole Bible :p) Have a nice day and thanks if you reply me! πŸ™‚ Love from Julie.

    • Honestly Fitness January 12, 2016 at 7:05 pm

      Hi Julie πŸ™‚
      I’m sorry it took me a while to reply – the big difference between the app and the guides is that you have to continuously pay for the app and as soon as you stop, you lose access to the workouts. With her PDF guides, there are only BBG 1.0 and 2.0 but you pay for them once and have them for life. I’m not sure what the BBG calendar is. I haven’t heard of it, maybe you could explain it to me?
      If you pay the app OR if you buy the guides, you are given a plan to follow πŸ™‚
      I hope this helps you!! Let me know if you have any more questions and thanks for trusting me to answer your question for you.
      Love from Alice x

  • Regina February 25, 2016 at 9:11 pm

    I just (very excitedly) got this app and started bbg for the first time. I’ve been using another app somewhat similar so it’s an adjustment but I’m still so excited.
    Question: how many workouts do you do per week? Should I do all 3 resistance categories being offered to me ? I can choose legs/abs/arms. So far I’ve done legs. Do I do arms next ? What about LISS? How often do I do this workout category? How do people usually schedule their week of workouts ? And is there any way to see my workout history as I continue to progress ?

    Sorry for so many questions but I desperately seek the answers. I’m used to freeletics- they give you a set number of workouts to complete each week.

    • Katie September 18, 2016 at 7:48 am

      I’m confused about this too because I got the app and have never had the e-book guides. It talks about just doing a 30 minute workout each day but then on each of the workouts it will say something like “2 remaining” after I felt like I was done with that one for the week. ?

      • Honestly Fitness September 18, 2016 at 12:14 pm

        Hmm, maybe it’s talking about your LISS workouts?

  • Rebekkah Zois March 20, 2016 at 7:23 pm

    I followed the app for about 2 months and then it stopped working. I emailed Kayla’s team and got nowhere. I DM’d her on insta and got a reply from the BBGCommunity asking for an email address. I was emailed, I responded and then again, nothing. I emailed several more times over the period of a few weeks without a response. I DM’d her again, in caps, out of sheer frustration, and was blocked from her account. I was also blocked from sending emails as well. Before this, I got a new account with another email to be able to use the app. I discovered my emails had been blocked as I stopped receiving an automatic reply and then tried emailing from my other email. My other email got an automatic reply but that was a month ago and I have still not heard anything. I contacted apple and they stopped everything and refunded my money. Ppl should be really cautious as it is clear to me it’s all about the money. Do some simple calculations. $20 x (a mere) 100,000 app users per month. That’s a cool $2 million USD/month. That’s not an unreasonable estimate and it’s awful that her team is instructed to deny issues and block customers with real concerns, instead of solving them. It’s also clear to me she picks favourites and pumps their insta accounts so they make money. There’s one bbg girl in nyc who is involved with monthly meet ups and was getting food sponsors. She used to post regularly. To me, it seems as though after the last nyc meet up, she got spanked by Kayla. She announced they would no longer have sponsors and they would only use BBG Exercises contained within Kayla’s program. She’s also not had as many posts as she did before. Very sad. Sporting events welcome sponsors, even competitors, as it winds up being good for all. Everyone wins that way and they all help each other to gain exposure.

    • Honestly Fitness March 20, 2016 at 7:37 pm

      Geez, I’m so sorry you had to go through all of that, Rebekkah :/ I’m really glad apple were able to help you out although it’s sad that Kayla’s team were unable to help you.
      Which BBG girl is this? I’m kind of curious as I’m friends with a few of them – please email me if you’re not comfortable with sharing it publicly (honestlyfitness@live.com).
      Thank you SO much for sharing your experience and thoughts. I really appreciate it xxx

  • Dara April 7, 2016 at 10:58 am

    Thank you for this super honest review! I’ve been on the fence about purchasing the app for a while now. I think $20 per month is a lot of money for an app! It’s a bit of a turn off, but I will admit it seems easier to use on a phone than the eBook. Still torn :-/

    -Dara // http://www.peoniesandhoneybees.com

    • Honestly Fitness April 7, 2016 at 11:00 am

      It’s a hard decision! You can use the ebook on your phone btw (unless you were referring to the more interactive capabilities of the app).
      I’m glad you liked the review and thanks so much for commenting. Really appreciate it πŸ™‚ xx

  • Lindsey S April 10, 2016 at 8:50 pm

    I used this app during the free week trial and tried to cancel, and it was a gimmickβ€”they charged me and asked me to contact apple if I wanted a refund. Not helpful. And not cheap at $20 a month, for something I didn’t use and will not use.

  • Leslie April 22, 2016 at 12:33 pm

    Great review of the app, and also honest. I also had the same problem as Lindsey – this app is a scam. They suck you in for free trial, you cancel it, and they charge you anyway. I contacted CS who refused to refund me because “the payment already processed.” Sorry, how is that ever an excuse? I have opened a complaint with PayPal. I would advise individuals to just avoid this app, not worth the headache to cancel the membership. Poor business practices and unethical.

  • Sweat with Kayla, sisi la fitfam | Mobile Troopers April 29, 2016 at 1:12 am

    […] Il va falloir tout de mΓͺme intΓ©grer plus de nouveautΓ© pour conquΓ©rir les adeptes du ebook. En effet, celles-ci semblent déçus par le prix et le manque d’innovation qu’offre l’app.Β  […]

  • Karen May 4, 2016 at 9:39 pm

    I really want to cancel as I too got charged before the trial was over and i just can’t get over the fact we are getting charged for a product I don’t want as I have all the guides. Soooo please tell me how I can get this cancelled ???

  • Leslie May 5, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    Try cancelling it through various ways – both through the actual app and through iTunes. If you pay through PayPal or your CC, cancel it through them and do not allow authorization anymore. What this company is doing is illegal. Another instance of this: BirchBox is in a current class action lawsuit right now in California for the same issues. Maybe Kayla is getting away with it because its an Australian company. good luck

  • Kathleen Paylor May 30, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    a big f***ing ripoff. somehow I’ve been charged for this for months and never signed up. SCAMMMMMMM
    F. U.

    • Honestly Fitness May 30, 2016 at 8:14 pm

      Youch, you’ve been charged even though you never signed up???

  • Joanna June 9, 2016 at 8:08 am

    Hello,
    I was SO relieved to find this review!

    I have been wanting to try BBG for awhile now so I finally purchased the app without the guides last Tuesday (5/31/16) and am now into “Week 2” but I am unsure of which version of BBG I am doing. When I open my app, I can only see Resistance, LISS and Recovery – no HIIT or Rep Challenges. Is this because I am only on “Week 2”? Additionally, in my app I can see my “Planner” and it tells me to do Full Body Resistance AND LISS on Saturdays – which I find confusing because my understanding was that it was to be 3 HIIT/Resistance and 3 LISS, 1 rest day. Can you offer any insights?

    Thank you so much!

    Joanna

  • Anna Daley July 3, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    So, I’m interested in trying out Kaylas “services” but I’m hesitant to subscribe to the app… Would you suggest just buying the guides over subscribing to the app? Does the app provide more for someone who hasn’t already purchased the guides?

    • Honestly Fitness July 3, 2016 at 7:32 pm

      I’m a little biased, because I don’t like the app, so I would recommend getting the PDF guides. With the app, the “selling point” is the fact that you get new workouts after BBG 1+2 are complete…however, I tried the equivalent of BBG 3 and it was basically the same exact workouts in BBG 1+2.
      There are a few other features which other people love, such as a timer, but I just don’t think it’s worth it … just my opinion and hope that helps πŸ™‚

  • MissW July 29, 2016 at 3:34 am

    So paper guides aside, do you recommend this app as a fitness regime? Did you find the content useful and worthwhile? Did you get fit?

    • Honestly Fitness July 29, 2016 at 4:48 am

      They’re exactly the same as the guides. So you will get fit but I didn’t see the results I wanted.

  • Kayla Itsines Bikini Body Guide Review - Honestly FitnessHonestly Fitness September 17, 2016 at 9:25 am

    […] If any of you want to buy her guides, click on the image below and you will be re-directed to her website. She also offers an Sweat with Kayla app, which hosts the workouts on the app itself. Click here to read my full review of Kayla Itsines Sweat with Kayla app. […]

  • Ginnie October 3, 2016 at 4:15 am

    Good article, all very valid comments. I subscribed to the app months ago and unfortunately by the time I went to start using it, my subscription had expired. I didn’t realise that you had to start using the guides straight away, and so I lost my money. That alone is reason why I’d rather have the paper guides, to be able to refer to them at any time. I can’t fathom why you should have to pay for something only to have it evaporate within a specific time frame. What is this… mission impossible?

  • alissa October 3, 2016 at 6:40 pm

    Agree with all of your comments. I have a really hard time memorizing the different rep exercises, I thought the app was going to bring to life an audio portion so I didn’t waste time in my workout constantly unlocking my phone/iPad again to check and see what would be next. The app is more of an on-line tracker, that’s great for veterans but not for newbies in my opinion.